Another Poem

This one was also done at the Young Writers Program in Geraldton which I mentioned in the last poetry post.

For this one we were given another ‘recipe’, this time the poem was about your best friend.

The formula was:

  • What kind of dance is your friend?
  • Season?
  • Holiday?
  • And what he means to you.

I think there was also supposed to be something about what colour your friend was

Here it is:


My best friend is a world on his own,

a never ending abyss.

His mind in a different dimension,

while his body on the moon.

Hes that kind of dance where you don’t know the moves,

You make them up as you go.

Out of time and not matching the song,

it’s wonder makes it beautiful.

Hes the start of summer,

joyful and warm.

The days that you wonder,

all the things you could do.

Hes that holiday that is not meant to be,

when your supposed to be at school.

But your down town eating ice cream,

or your swimming through the waves.

Hes that place hidden away,

which only you know.

Where life is forgotten,

and your mind is reality.

He means the world to me,

not forgetting what it holds.

For he means everything to me,

because without him,

I don’t know what I would be.


Well, that’s the poem. It’s not about anyone in particular, actually its not about anyone I know. Its just that this person seemed to suit the poem recipe, and if you ask me, this person seems like a pretty cool friend.

Let me know if you liked it.

3 thoughts on “Another Poem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *