Commenting On My Blog

So, for the #16stubc week 1 activity, we were asked to Make a set of commenting guidelines along with a page that shows how to comment on my specific blog. (Some blogs have different methods).

(I have not posted a week 1 activity because in week 1 we were required to write an about page but I figured that it would be alright to just use the one that I made a while ago which covers a large amount about me… otherwise I wouldn’t have much more to write about to make a reasonable sized about page.)


Commenting on someones blog is simple. But writing a quality comment is a bit more than just saying ‘good job’ or ‘I like your work’. I am not saying that it has to be long and ongoing about one thing that you liked, but what makes the difference between a comment and a quality one is what your words mean.

To make a quality comment, first of all you need to read the persons work. I have seen it a lot and it has happened to me a few times, when someone comments on your blog and they have no idea what they’re talking about. It could have been about something you really liked, but you were too lazy to read it and instead you just comment to make it look like you’ve read it. Jeez’ this gets to me.

To make a quality comment, be nice to the person who made the post. Don’t be mean and criticise their work unless its constructive criticism. (For people from other countries, I’m sorry about the ‘s’ in criticism, I’m Australian so that’s how its spelt here). If you want to comment on someones post, but you cant think of anything to say, read through their post and see what parts you liked, or maybe something that you could help them improve on. and of course, “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say it at all” as many of my teachers would say. Commenting nice comments always makes the person who made the post feel good about themselves and inspires them to continue what they are doing.

If you are going to criticise, tell the person what they are doing wrong, and tell them how they can improve. Its called constructive criticism and instead of being something that puts people down, it brings them up and encourages them to continue their work and to get even better.

They’re some things that I think are crucial when making a quality comment. Next time you comment on someones blog, remember these and think, how will my comment benefit the blogger.

2 thoughts on “Commenting On My Blog

  1. Hello.
    Thanks for the well-written commentary on commenting.
    I have the same motto, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say it at all.” My other motto is “Just because you can say, do or write something, doesn’t mean you should.”
    Thanks.
    Dinah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *